Road Safety GB is the national road safety organisation that represents local government road safety teams across the UK.  It supports local highway authority (LHA) road safety officers and their teams in fulfilling their statutory role - to reduce the number and severity of road accidents through education, training and publicity policies and programmes.

Road Safety GB seeks to influence national debate - government policy and action, and public opinion - and works with other organisations to achieve common goals.

Road Safety GB NE is one of 12 regional groups that belong to Road Safety GB.

In the north east region, Road Safety GB consists of the following LHA members: 

Darlington Borough Council
Durham County Council
Gateshead Council
Hartlepool Borough Council
Middlesbrough Borough Council
Newcastle City Council
North Tyneside Council
Northumberland County Council
Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council
South Tyneside MBC
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
Sunderland City Council

Click here for contact details for all of the above road safety teams

Co-opted member organisations include:

Cleveland Police
Cleveland Safety Camera Partnership
Durham Constabulary
Northumbria Police
Northumbria Safer Roads Initiative
Regional Road Safety Data Project