Road Safety News

Norman confirmed as minister for road safety

Tuesday 4th July 2017

The DfT has confirmed that Jesse Norman MP will take over the road safety portfolio - as well as having responsibility for cycling and walking policy.

Mr Norman, who arrived at the DfT last month following the General Election, takes the portfolio previously held by Andrew Jones - who moved to the Treasury as part of the June 2017 reshuffle.

Alongside road safety and cycling and walking policy, Mr Norman will be responsible for buses, Highways England and strategic roads, local roads policy and funding, motoring agencies, road freight, transport and the environment and transport technology.

He is likely to oversee the Government’s handling of electric and autonomous vehicles and other important issues including the condition of the road network.

Mr Norman, MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire, moved to the DfT from the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy where he held the post of minister for industry and energy since July 2016.

Between 2010-2015, Mr Norman was a member of the Treasury Select Committee and chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Employee Ownership. In June 2015 he was elected chair of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee.

Mr Norman was awarded Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year and The House Backbencher of the Year in 2012.

As previously reported, the rest of the ministerial line up at the DfT remains largely unchanged, with Chris Grayling retaining the top job of Secretary of State for Transport. 

Related stories

Andrew Jones leaves DfT as Jesse Norman arrives
19 June 2017



Comment on this story
Report a reader comment

What's your view - comment on this story:

I confirm that I have read and accept the moderation policy and house rules relating to comments posted on this website.
Your comment:
Your name and location:
Your email:

There are currently no comments about this news item.