Road Safety News

Grayling retains top job at DfT

Monday 12th June 2017

It appears that the ministerial team at the DfT remains unchanged (for now) following last week's general election, and the subsequent cabinet reshuffle.

Chris Grayling has been re-appointed transport secretary by prime minister Theresa May, maintaining overall responsibility for the DfT. Mr Grayling will continue in the role he has held since July 2016.

It also appears that Andrew Jones has retained responsibility for road safety and sustainable travel*, while John Hayes remains responsible for Highways England and the Modern Transport Bill.

In his first year in office, Mr Grayling has overseen the publication of the first ‘cycling and walking investment strategy’ - worth £1.2bn - and the doubling of penalties for mobile phone offences.

Mr Grayling was first elected as a MP in 2001 and has since then represented the constituency of Epsom and Ewell. After the Conservatives’ success at the 2010 election, he was appointed minister of state for employment, a position he held until his move to justice secretary in 2012.

In May 2015, he was also appointed leader of the House of Commons, a position he vacated in July 2016 when moving to the DfT.

*It has since been announced that Andrew Jones has left the DfT, taking up a new position at the Treasury. Jesse Norman has joined the DfT - and is expected to take over the road safety portfolio.


Comment on this story
Report a reader comment

What's your view - comment on this story:

I confirm that I have read and accept the moderation policy and house rules relating to comments posted on this website.
Your comment:
Your name and location:
Your email:

There will be a new road safety minister - presumably Jesse Norman MP now Andrew Jones has been moved to Treasury. But Dft website says roles tbc...
David Davies, London

Agree (0) | Disagree (0)